Wednesday, November 13, 2013


The month of December is already here!
What happened to the time.....something must have sped all these calendars up as I see how little I have updated my blog lately.
At least I did manage to get very good use out of this Topbox and have almost used up every item in it!
(Guess that happens when you skip another sub you have and have less samples you want to try out...).

November 2013 Topbox!

Here is what was received in my November 2013 Topbox:

I will have to add that this was not the most exiting Topbox I've gotten lately.
Not the most thrilled about this selection and first- seems more like some useful items to try out.
I've tried some Cover FX products before and know they are high quality.
 Shu Uemura I've tried some of the hair products I think. Currently I am using another Japanese cleansing oil by DHC, so that is not a new idea. Never tried such a FANCY cleansing oil though!
Perfume samples are nice and useful,I have so many to still try out...
The castille soap smells so nice, not very new to these kinds of soaps- usually health stores and farmer markets sell this kind of thing- not familiar with T Langhans products.
I do like how the November 2013 box has a nice mixture of face and body products and even has 2 Canadian-made items!

Now onto what I thought of my Novermber 2013 Topbox selection:

*Cover FX: CC Cream Time Release Tinted Treatment SPF  30
(sample size 5ml/0.16 fl oz, value $7.50 // full size item 30ml, $45).
This happens to be a Canadian-made item! The 5ml size tube is a good size to try out a product for a few days. I do not recall trying out another CC cream yet- I've tried BB creams and many tinted moisturizers over the years.
The light shade I was sent makes me look a bit pale- usually I am a medium beige/olive skin tone and naturally tanned. The cream went on quite easily and has a bit of a scent- not enough to distract, but a light fresh scent. Usually I prefer fragrance-free skincare.
The CC cream left my skin with a shimmery finish that was quite natural. This product seems to work better for me with a face powder over it to make it look not as light.
I did enjoy trying this sample and will use it all up. Will most likely buy the full size in the future!

*Shu Uemura: Cleansing Beauty Oil.Received the purifying kind.
(sample size 20ml, value $7.00// full size 150ml, $50).
This sample bottle just seems so tiny, at least compared to my other cleansing oil from DHC (that is also Japanese). Usually cleansing oils are quite concentrated, but the Shu one looks quite liquid and watery in the bottle.
The scent is light and fresh, a clean scent. I'm not too sure what more to expect from a expensive cleansing oil, my other one is more resonable in price and works very well.
With such a tiny bottle I have to be careful not to spill the contents of this extremely tiny bottle, with a even tinier cap...
The oil is quite watery and if you are not careful applying it, you could easily spill it everywhere.
Now that I got the cleansing oil on my face, it does do a good job of taking off my sunscreen and face stuff.
You are supposed to rinse your face afterwards.
My face feels very clean and not at all "oily" from using just the Shu cleansing oil. I do not even need to use any toner after this as my face feels very clean.
After using the Shu cleansing oil once a day for two weeks I still have 1/2 the bottle left...amazing!
I was not expecting the product to be so concentrated and lovely!
Now I will have to put this on my wish list of cosmetic items!
I really want to try out samples of the other kinds of Shu Uemura cleansing oils to see how they all differ. Hopefully someone can send them my way..ry.....:)

Update Jan 11, 2014:
I am very impressed with how long the Shu Uemura cleansing oil actually lasted for such a small bottle!
I was expecting to get only a few days use, maybe a week at most and this lasted me 3 weeks with using once a day.
My skin also felt very clean compared to other cleansing oils I have tried.
Compared to my other cleansers I did not need as much product and that was very unexpected.
Next time I pass by a store that carries the oil, I am surely buying some!!

*Parfums Issey Miyake: PLEATS PLEASE.
(sample size 4ml vial, value $4.24// full size 100ml, $106)
After reading the description, no clue what kind of scent this will be. This is described as being "joyus,upbeat,graceful and feminine). Could be just about..................anything!
The sample is a nice size and came in a long vial- not the most practical thing, still very generous size!
When I smelled the Pleats Please fragrance, to me it smells light and floral. A clean and fresh scent that is quite unobtrusive. You could wear this to work during the day and not annoy anyone.
I can not make out what the notes of this fragrance are, but I will use this up.
Doubt I would buy this,but it is quite nice.

*T. Langhans : Handcrafted Castille Soap in Lemongrass.
(sample size 20grams, value $2.50// full size 105-135g, $12).

This was the item that made my Topbox smell very nice when I was unboxing it!
The scent of the lemongrass was very fresh and strong- great if you like lemongrass and lousy if you dislike it.
Lemongrass happens to be one of my favorite scents, so that was a plus!
Castille soaps are supposed to be very gentle on the skin as they retain all the good oils when the soap is made. Most "commercial" soaps they take out all the good things and they can dry your skin out.
This kind of soap is great for someone with very dry skin during the winter as it did not dry out my skin.
The small sample bar lasted longer than I expected, but I will have to give a somewhat lower score on this item because you can find castille soap for much less cost in a lot of local shops around here.
If there are no natural product stores or local soap makers in your area, then this soap is a very nice treat (or gift) for yourself.

Final thoughts about the November 2013 Seasonsbox:

Overall I did like this box and learned of one new brand.
Also, I had not tried any of the products that were sent to me before, so I can say Topbox did a great job of introducing me to some new cosmetic items.
The value was not the highest coming in at $21.24.
I did make use of every item in my box, so that was good!
Can't wait to see what December brings as that is the festive season!


My October Topbox showed up a while ago!
I was trying to use all the products that came in my package for at least a week or two before posting.
What I found interesting is that almost all the Murale branded boxes had entirely different items.
I'm somewhat surprised to receive this box as I did not make any requests for any of the branded boxes, as most of the products in them are not new to me.

Contents of the October 2013 Topbox:

Murale packaging! Fun and funky!
October 2013 Topbox contents!
I really like the contents of this Topbox because, while I am familiar with all the brands that were sent- I have never tried any of these products.
(Used to buy quite a bit of Clarins skincare and some Estee Lauder at The Bay, but not lately).Z
The variety in this box is good to as it covers hair, body and skincare.

My thoughts on the items sent:

*Clarins: Satin-Smooth Body Lotion: sample size 30ml, value $6.60/ full size 200ml, $44.
I have never tried Clarins body products, so this was nice to try out.
Like a lot of the Clarins line, this lotion has a fragrance that is made up of essential oils- it has a light "floral" scent.
So if you do not like fragranced body products, this might not be as enjoyable.
The lotion is more like a cream/gel and is quite light and absorbs very well, My skin felt refreshed and moisturized after using this lotion. If your skin is extremely dry a thicker cream might be better.
I think this lotion would great for spring and summer!
*Estee Lauder: Perfectionist [CP+R] Wrinkle Lifting/Firming Serum: sample size 7ml mini bottle, value $18.20/ full size 30ml $78.
I like trying out different face serums and have heard so many great things about this one!
Now I do not have any wrikles and can not really evaluate this product properly.
The serum is quite light and does have a fairly strong floral scent. (I usually prefer serums that are not fragranced).
The serum did absorb quite quickly and left my skin looking a bit smoother and moisturized. This is a good sample to see if the serum agrees with you- but to really test this product out the info from the product card states you need 4 weeks to see results.

*Ojon: Volume Advance Thickening Spray: sample size 55ml, value $12.00/ full size 125ml, $27.00.
I really like this spray. The scent is very light and not distracting at all!
I'm not really sure how to describe the scent though?
My hair is somewhat thin and quite curly. Lately I can not blow dry my hair, so can not really test this product out "properly".
I did spray the thickening spray before I air dryed my hair and it did have more shine and looked healthier.
Also, the spray did not make my hair feel crunchy and still like some of those salt water volumizers that have dried my hair out.
Overall I did really like this product and will put it on my shopping list once I use up some of my massive pile of hair products!

*Rodial: bee venom moisturizer: sample size 5ml, value $19.00/full size 50ml $190.
I've heard of the Rodial brand before and they seem to be a company that makes some very exotic, high-end cosmetics. I have never tried any of their line and was curious about what this bee venom cream can do!
The explanation from Murale's website is great and is easy to understand. I'm not sure I could do a better job with the explanation either...

"Rodial’s bee venom moisturizer is an advanced formula that revitalises and renews for naturally younger looking skin. Bee Venom works in synergy with a unique complex of plant stem cells to help visibly improve skin tone and elasticity. Cyclopeptide-5 and Juvinity™ refine the skin’s surface to help plump and smooth the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, whilst Hyaluronic Acid provides intensive moisturisation and long-lasting hydration for a radiant complexion."

I don't have any fine lines or wrinkles yet, so am prob not the best candidate for this cream.
My cheeks are quite dry, so I just applied the cream there. The bee venom cream is quite strongly scented- a bit too much for my liking.
My skin did feel very hydrated from the Hyaluronic Acid. The plant stem cells are supposed to do something also, but I have not tried this product long enough to determine that.

Topbox Oct 2013 Infocard.
Overall I am pleased with the value and contents of my Topbox this month!
The value was quite high at $55.80! Considering that Topbox costs $13 per month.
I will be keeping my Topbox subscription for a long time and am looking forwards to the November box!

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Zyderma cream really helped my skin. Review after 10 day use.

When I saw that some other members of a cosmetic sampling "box" had received this cream and somehow they determined a different sample would be sent to me- (I) ended up contacting the company that makes Zyderma to see if they would send me a sample so I could try and review their cream.

Now, I have had several skin issues for the past year and had seen some ok results with some products, but most things I tried were just temporary fixes and did not continually work.
I did see several dermatologists as well- and even one derm that only works in a hospital clinic (and in case you are wondering that derm made my skin  WORSE!).
I had some skin irritation that was not going away and also a couple of very inflamed blemishes and they were injected with cortisone and at the t ime the Dr. was very rushed and only when I left  there did I realize my skin was not cleaned with alcohol beforehand and my skin looked worse and was quite inflamed.
(and this was a derm I had waited a year and a half to see.

I did not take any pics of my face for this review, but do have before and after of my elbow,arm and knees.
The way that Zyderma works is that their cream uses Microsilver BG silver that is made up of particles that are too big to penetrate the skin.
These silver particles then sit on your skin and deactivate the harmful backteria that can harm your skin.
There are quite a few silver products out there, but most I did see just use "colloidal silver" or "silver water" and you are not sure how much there is or if it is even a safe product to use.

The Microsilver BG ingredient is patented by a German company and has had many studies and quite a lot of research behind it. I also like that I know it is a safe ingredient to use and will not harm me if I use it in the long term.

The pictures below are of my elbow and arm. I had some mystery irritation and a patch of very itchy dry skin that was not going  away.
I was told to exfoliate more and that just made my skin more red the next day and still itchy.
I was told to use cream with AHA acids and my skin did look and feel a bit smoother, but was still very red and not getting better.
Was then told to try cortisone cream and that just made my skin feel like it was burning, the Dr. solution...use a stronger cortisone cream (yes, seriously).
I tried several creams that had tea tree oil in them and that did help a bit,but my skin was still red and itchy.
Also tried quite a few creams with oatmeal in them and many natural and organic things.
Even tried Benardryl cream- and that can be quite toxic as it is absorbed by the body and you are not supposed to take any allergy medications at the same time or you could end up with life threatening problems.

So far I have not had any issues with the Zyderma cream, well it seems more like a "lotion" as it is quite light and does not feel heavy on the skin.

In the before picture you can see the skin on my elbow is red and rough looking. My skin had been like that for almost a year (on and off), so I am not expecting my skin to entirely recover in such a short amount time- but I did purchase some cream to keep using it and am very pleased with the results so far!
I have even had quite a few people who see me all the time ask what I was using on my skin lately as they were surprised how much better my skin looked.
My pictures were also done in the same location with the same lighting and camera, just to do a fair comparison.
Even now looking at the before and after pics myself, I am quite surprised!

If you are interested in trying Zyderma there is a trial offer on their website where you just pay shipping and they will send you a 30ml bottle.
It is not a recurring charge or any of those sketchy things, it is a one time charge and you can only get one trial size bottle per household (I think).
The website to order is
or if you do not want to order online the toll-free number is: 1-855-331-7111
The company is located in Toronto, so shipping is quite fast and it is nice to not pay any duty or extra fees to get my order.

*I will be adding more to this post later during the week and also am going to do a comparison of two other silver products I tried in a separate post.
Still need to take pictures of the other products and do the writing part (and need more info from the other companies as they have no info about the kind of silver used or any safety info need to get more info to do that post).

The other product containing silver I tried was:

Performance Remedy Mr. Fix It Antimicrobial Wound Rescue (1fl oz.)
by Jack Black
(you can buy it at many places online).

What it's used for:
Jack Black Performance Remedy Mr. Fix It Antimicrobial Wound Rescue is an advanced yet simple way to speed tissue regeneration while preventing bacterial infections. Its lightweight, non-greasy texture does not stain and adheres easily to the application area. Pure, micronized silver neutralizes even the most resistant strains of bacteria that often thrive in gyms and workout areas.
 Silver, Water.

Considering there is no info on the kind of silver used and particle size and no info I can find about the Jack Black product, I am not using it- but I did not see any result from it either.

**I was not paid for this blog post and was only sent the Zyderma cream to evaluate.
The Jack Black product was bought with my own money.

Thursday, October 24, 2013


The September edition of Topbox was a special collaboration with Chatelaine magazine and the mailing tube had some very fancy paper on it this month.
Still trying to figure out what to do with it, as it is very decorative.
For this Topbox, I will do an "unboxing" through my photos!

Chatelaine branded Topbox tube- love the design of the paper!

First look inside the Topbox!

I see a magazine and a product. Not sure what it is yet.....

Lancome Tresor EDP mini! how cute!

Wrapped in tissue paper was Cover FX primer and Lise Watier tinted foundation

Last product was a Wella styling spray...FULL SIZE!

.................And here is my review:

*COVER FX: Anti-Aging Primer.
Sample size 5ml tube, value $6.40/ full size 30ml ($38).
I like receiving the Cover FX primers as they are quite costly and the texture is very nice.
They feel like a serum and contain quite a few active ingredients. Now I'm not sure what is anti-aging in this product as I do not have the ingredient list here.
It would be very helpful if companies that provide samples in these boxes could have a small paper with ingredients- just a suggestion.
The primer also does not have a scent and I do not see any sparkles in it, so another plus.
I will report back on how this product holds up and will use it the next couple days!

*WELLA PROFESSIONALS: Thermal Image Heat Protection Spray.
Full size product $14 (150ml bottle).
Wella is a great salon brand that has been around forever, it seems. I do like the products Wella makes and have not used any lately.
This spray has 2 layers in the bottle and you are supposed to shake the product before using.
I do not use heat styling most of the time, so not sure when I will try this out.
Also, there is alcohol in the product and my hair is very dry. Maybe I will just try it out on my bangs today?

*LISE WATIER: Teint Age Controle Supreme.
Sample size 5ml tube, value $8.00/ full size 30ml (48).
The shade I received is Neutre and it seems like a tinted moisturizer when I applied it. The coverage is very sheer and I can not smell the product-which is great.
Some face products are so strongly scented it can really bother me.
One thing I just noticed is that Topbox puts a maple leaf beside the Canadian products we receive.
When I looked at the back of the tube the cream is made in Italy!
Just thought that might be worth mentioning!

LANCOME PARIS: Tresor Eau de Parfum:
Size 7.5ml mini bottle, value $17 /full size 30ml ($68).
This perfume has been around a very long time. I like how you smell the peach more than the floral part.
The perfume is not overpowering and I will most likely pick some up in the future!

Chatelaine double issue!

Chatelaine magazine other side!

Product card for Sept 2013

My overall thoughts on the Sept 2013 Topbox:

I am quite pleased and the value is quite high this month being $45.40!
Also nice that we got an issue of Chatelaine included. I recall one other company had a box sponsored by LouLou magazine and we had not gotten a magazine- I thought that made the box and company look "cheap".
Chatelaine has done a great job with their promotion- I just resubscribed to their magazine for another year!

Wednesday, October 2, 2013


My Topbox showed up at lightning speed in the mail today!
The version I got is sponsored by Murale- which is a company of the Shoppers Drug Mart chain and is very much like a Sephora store...but even better.

Here is what this month's packaging looks like-it is very colorful and different!

Oct 2013 Topbox by Murale!

Contents of Oct 2013 Topbox!

Contents of my Oct 2013 Topbox:

*Ojon: Volume Advance Thickening Spray: 55 ml spray bottle.

*Clarins: Satin-Smooth Body Lotion: 30ml bottle.

*Estee Lauder: Perfectionist [CP+R] Wrinkle Lifting/Firming Serum: 7ml...cute bottle!

*Rodial: Bee Venom Moisturiser: 5ml tube.

My review will be up shortly!
Very curious to see what other people will get in their Topbox!
Feel free to send me some links to Topbox reviews and I will check them out...

Friday, September 20, 2013

Topbox August 2013 review! New and Interesting products!

My August Topbox showed up in my mailbox around two weeks ago.
Topbox is a monthly cosmetic subscription service that sends out 4 various deluxe samples each month.
As of right now Topbox is just a service for Canadians only. The cost is $12 and the products come in a nice reusable mailer tube!

I also noticed that the month was not on my product card anymore. Not too sure why, but guessing that some people may receive these items later on possibly?

Here are the contents of my August 2013:
August 2013 Topbox

* Clinique: Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion +: 
Sample size 15ml tube, value $5.15/ full size product is 50ml ($17) and 125ml ($32).
At first I was not too thrilled with receiving this lotion as I already have the original Clinique lotion and a tube of the men's moisturizer here.
After reading that this new lotion helps strengthen skin's moisture barrier by 54%- I was very intrigued.
The Clinique moisturizer, as expected had no scent and is quite light compared to the original Dramatically Different Moisture Lotion.
I do think I like this one better as my skin felt more refreshed, but feel it might not be enough for winter.
Also no Spf, so you need a separate sunscreen.
After trying this lotion for a week, I will buy some once my other Clinique products run out!

*Miyu Teas & Beauty: De-Stress Mi Beauty Essence: 
Sample size spray 15ml, value $6.40/ full size 80ml ($34). + one tea bag,not sure of value.
I have never seen such an interesting product combination!
You get a De-Stressing tea bag that contains peppermint, licorice and chamomile with candied "pearls".
There is also the matching face spray that you can use to refresh yourself during the day.
The face spray did not have a strong scent at all and felt very refreshing, it is very enjoyable to use.
I have not tried the tea yet, will do so soon and report back...

+I also appreciate how much care was put into the presentation of the sample and that there was a very clear info booklet with both the French and English explanations!

*B.KAMINS: Lip Balm SPF 20:  
Sample size 3ml tube, value $4.20, full size 15ml ($21).
This lip balm is nice and I see they have changed the writing on the sample package!
Earlier samples I got from other stores just had the lip balm title on them and nothing mentioned about SPF and I found it confusing to be sure it was the same product.

Now the balm is clear when it goes on and has no taste. I kind of expected a maple scent or taste after hearing so much about the bio maple that is used in this line.
I also like that there is a info card with ingredients included.
Overall I do like this balm and will use it up. Not sure if I will buy it as I like flavored balms a bit more!
Almost forgot to mention that B.Kamins is a Canadian brand and made in Canada!

*AVON: MEGA effects mascara:
Full size product, value $12 (9g).
This is an interesting mascara, the wand is really different and looks like a wide paintbrush with little plastic spikes on the end. It is a bit hard to get to use and prob not too good to use if you are in a rush.
The formula did dry quickly and is a nice dark black.I also did not notice a strong scent to this mascara, so that is a plus too!
I will have to experiment a bit more with this product and do a follow up post sometime.

Final thoughts on the August 2013 Topbox:

Overall I am pleased with the samples that were sent and there is something in each different category-face,well being,lip/sunscreen, cosmetics.
The value of my box is $27.75! and I think that is pretty decent!
If you like to try new products and brands Topbox is a great subscription for that purpose!

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Blood is the New Black: Blind Bargain Bag! Men's Shirts! Aug 2013.

This is part of my earlier order from the website Blood is the New Black.
I had ordered 3 Blind Bargain bags and kind of got behind on my posting and taking pictures.
The bag I had ordered was the men's bag, as I like my shirts a bit bigger.
Also I found for the men's shirts I was more likely to get t-shirts and not tank tops of sleeveless items.
Now I do also like the sleeveless items I got in the women's bags- but was really in need to some new t-shirts!

These are the shirts I was sent in my Blind Bargain Bag:

By: Hannah Stouffer

This is one of my favorite shirts. I do not have any info on the title or when it was made/sold.
The print is a kind of forest scene and there is some kind of mythical looking animal hidden in the background.
The print is much more pale in person too and has a more pastel kind of look.

Jenny Mortsell: Lips

I really like this shirt design and was actually trying to decide if I wanted this top or now. 
It was not added to my order as I was trying to cut back and only buy 5 tops I wanted.
Happy I got this fun design!

Nylon magazine cover?

uessWho is this supposed to be? I have not read Nylon magazine in....forever!
The inside of the top says by Sterling Bartlett.
The sale tag for this top has the SKU for Urban Outfitters and $9.99. Guess this shirt was sent back as it did not come in a plastic bag.


This is kind of a interesting top. Had to look up where CANARSIE is and it is in New York City.
Never been to that part of NY but from the looks of this shirt I guess they are like snakes (or is that dragons?) and have beer bottles....
Well......ok then.

And the last top..................


How fitting and funny. YES......check out my blog!
Hopefully my shirt pics have been fun to look and and that it makes you want to come back and check out my blog.
I am also decorating a couple of my shirts from an earlier come back to check that out!

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Topbox July 2013 review!

Finally getting around to writing my Topbox review for July.
I got my tube quite late and was also quite behind in trying the new products.

This is what I received in the regular Topbox for July 2013.
I would rather get a surprise than know what brands I am getting. Not too sure I will do any of the themed boxes that you can chose from.
*That funny yellow and white thing, is my pen. The items would not stay without rolling around and the pen was used to keep the products from sliding.
(capsule pen is from Light in the


*Belvada Cosmetics: One Moment Essential Day Cream: sample size 8G, value $8/ full size 60ml, $60.
This cream looks really neat in the jar and is a clear gel base with some "gold" looking pearls suspended throughout the formula. This cream contains 24k gold flakes and pearl protein which the company says helps stimulate blood flow and give a healthy glow.
I have only used this cream a couple times, so nothing  too sure if it has done anything yet. The cream does feel nice and refreshing on my face, but it does not say if there is any assuming you need a separate sunscreen.
Also, the "pearls" are a bit hard to get out with your fingers, so a small spatula is helpful.
This is a neat product and I will use it up!
There is also not a very strong scent, so that is another plus.

KMS California:  ADD VOLUME volumizing spray: sample size 30ml spray bottle, value $2.50/ full size 200ml, $16.70.
I like a lot of the KMS hair products and usually buy some of their other hair gels and products.
Have not yet tried any of the volumizing products as I use either the curly like or Hairstay line.
You are supposed to use this gel before blow-drying your hair to see volume. I can not use a hair dryer right now, and only used this on damp hair- so did not really test out the volume part.
But the gel did tame my curly hair and left it manageable with some light hold. The gel was not heavy or sticky and I would buy this again!

*China Glaze nail laquer: FULL SIZE ITEM!!! 14ml bottle, value $8
The value on the card does say $10-12, but when I looked online for this polish, it was on sale for $7.00 (at Nail Polish polish is from the 2012 Summer Neons collection. When I did try this out on my toes the finish was quite matte. I have not used much from this brand, so not too sure how the finish on their other collections is. I do like the dark berry colour and think it would look much nicer with a top coat...unless you like the matte look!

*B Kamins: BB Cream: sample size 3g tube, value $3/ full size 50ml, $49.00
I really like how this sample is packaged and presented!
The BB cream came in a small tube- easy to reclose and enough for a few uses.
Also that the product came with an info card detailing the use, benefits and ingredients is very impressive.
I did not read that there was any sunscreen protection on the info card and am a bit surprised at this.
So far I found the BB cream blended in with my olive skin tone very well and had a very natural look.
I'll have to use up the rest of the sample and report back with any other findings.


Overall thoughts on the July 2013 Topbox:

I enjoyed the July Topbox and found there was a good mix of products for hair, skin and nails. The China Glaze polish is a very summery shade, but it would have been nicer to receive something from the 2013 seasons. If I look back through my pics on my computer I do see I received another neon from China Glaze in my Aug 2012 Topbox.
Here is the link to my full review:
June 2012 Topbox products

June 2012 Topbox infocard

Wednesday, August 21, 2013


From the website Blood is the New Black.
Ordered three Blind Bargain Bags. I'm posting the pics up for to follow.






BLOOD IS THE NEW BLACK BLIND BARGAIN BAG order #5 Men's Small Aug 2013 tops received!

I just received my latest order from Blood is the New Black and bought a couple of the Blind Bargain Bags they had listed.

My review will be longer, but for now these are the shirts I received. These tops were all bought with my own money....but considering the Bargain Bags sell for $25, it is a great deal!

Tops that I received:






Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Blood is the New Black BLIND BARGAIN BAG #4 Men's selection!

These shirts were  part of my order #3 and are the men's Blind Bargain Bag from Blood is the New Black.
BITNB is a company that makes all their clothing in the US and feature designs by many types of artists.
I bought these tops with my own money and this would be my fourth bag I have recently purchased.
It might seem like a lot of tops, but when it is so random and I've gotten quite a few sleeveless items when I was hoping for t-shirts I am going to reorder and hope for more of the style I want and also buy some individual tops on their site.
So far I have found the women's bags had more tank tops and sleeveless items and the men's has short sleeve and the Euro fit tees.

This is what was in my men's Blind Bargain Bag:

Pig Boy by Carey Haider

This is an interesting shirt and one that is still for sale right now!
Not really a top I would chose- it is kind of funny and creepy at the same time. I do like the shirt colour and fit and will wear it! But I am going to add some embellishments to this top to make it look a bit more feminine (or fun) somehow.
I will post the results online,but it might not be for a while as I have to order my craft supplies.......from China. No idea how long shipping will take- I am thinking of adding some colored studs or maybe just metallic ones....

Bare Arms by Brendan Donelly

This is one design you can still buy right now!
I like that it is a play on words. The top is one of the Euro tees and a slimmer fit. I like this style as it is more fitted and easier to layer with other shirts or sweaters.

1% by Carey Haider

I like how the picture is made to look like a Polaroid-it has quite a nostalgic look to it.
Also thinking of adding something to the border of the picture to make it look more interesting- bought some copper colored studs and think it would look quite nice.
You can also still order this shirt in a few different cuts and tanks too.....

 Giant Cum by Dan Monick

Well, I'm not too fond of this top and not too sure I will wear it.
At least one of my friends really wants this shirt and it should fit him as it is a men's med and quite a big shirt!
I kind of wish there was more info about this top as I would really like to know what inspired the artist to do this???

Front and Back by Carey Haider

This is also a top you can still buy!
Guess I kind of lucked out and got all recent designs with this grab bag! Not that it matters to me really- as long as I like the tops I receive.
I do like how the image on this top is in black and white, with the bottom part in color. It really makes the top look interesting. This is also a Euro fit tee.
Quite a few people have mentioned to me already that they like this top and wanted to know where I bought it from!

Final thoughts on this bag:

Overall I am quite pleased with the tops I received. 4 out of the 5 shirts I will wear- so considering this cost me $25 +$9 shipping that is a great value!
I actually just placed another order for some bargain bags and a few other tees as I was sent a email there was a sale this week!

If you are interested in ordering any tops the website for Blood is the New Black is:

Friday, August 9, 2013

Blood is the New Black BLIND BARGAIN BAG order #3 Boyfriend Fit women's tees!

As soon as I saw there was a Blind Bargain Bag from Blood is the New Black that had only the boyfriend fit shirts I HAD to place an order.
Usually I like "bigger" shirts and liked almost all the designs in that style, so figured I would like whatever they sent.
Turns out I was right and I like 4 out of the 5 tops, but will wear them all.
One of the tops had a print that was a bit too scary for my liking and I will prob wear that shirt inside out as I like the cut and colour- you will have to read my review to find out what top that was!

As usual the BITNB shirts are made in the US and have a very soft thin cotton and are printed with imaged from lesser known artists!
I paid $25 for the bargain bag and shipping is an extra $9 (unless you spend $100 then shipping is FREE :).

These are the shirts I received:

Hello Nevermind by Bobby Whigham

This shirt alone makes the grab bag worth it!
I've always wanted a Hello Kitty shirt and just never got around to getting one- or any of the other characters I like.
I actually worked for someone that had a Sanrio store, but they did not carry any clothing then at their store.
This will be great for summer with the cheerful orange of the shirt!

Hobby Horse by Edward Cao

At first I was not too sure about this shirt- I liked it but only thought it was ok.
No specific reason really, well I guess I do not own any shirts that have animals on them...until now that is!
I wore this a couple days ago and no one commented on my shirt, much to my surprise.
Strangers have stopped to ask me about a couple of my other shirts though, so that was kind of surprising.

Creature Of The Night by Heather Gabel

I like this shirt!
Not too much else to add to this. I think I will wear this shirt often....
The artist who made the graphics for this top also happens to be Canadian!

Lifes A Grave by Brendan Donelly

This shirt is ok and kind of funny!
It happened to scare my aunt, but she is in her 60's and generally does not like things with skeletons on them.
I'm sure my friends will find this shirt funny though.

And now for the last top, the one that has a design I find a bit too creepy for my taste.
There is just too many eyes on this top.....and the wolf has too many eyes also.
But that is just my opinion.....

DEMONBABIES shirt. unsure of title.
I am not too sure what the title of this top is as it is no longer listed for sale online.
The fit of this top is really nice and I was looking for a plain black shirt. I think I will wear this top inside out as you can not see the design through it......thankfully.

That's it for my shirts!

Those are the shirts I received in my bargain bag. I am quite pleased and am very tempted to order a couple more as I do need some new shirts.
If you are interested in ordering a Blind Bargain Bag or some other shirts the website for Blood is the New Black can be found at:

Sunday, August 4, 2013

Blood is the New Black BLIND BARGAIN BAG order #2 Men's tops 2013!

Thought I would try out the men's mystery bag at Blood is the New Black.
I figured the shirts would most likely be a bigger fit and hopefully more tops with short sleeves.
This time I got 5 short sleeve shirts!
Four of the shirts are great and one has a fit that is quite small for me- that one I will give to someone who can fit that better than myself.

Here are the shirts I received:


This shirt is sort of a repeat. I got this in my first order in a women's tank top.
I do like this shirt and have worn in a few times already and wore it with an American Apparel black skort.
The fit of this top is great and I'm quite pleased.

This is the top that was much smaller for me- I think it is one of the men's Euro fit tees.
For a small, it seems quite small. The material for this shirt is also thicker and the back where the neck is states the shirt is 100% cotton and Made in Honduras.
The design is ok, I am going to find someone who can fit into this shirt better than myself and give them this shirt!

This shirt has a cute picture of a puppy and a kitten.
It is written "BE COOL, OK."
This shirt is ok, I will wear it.

This shirt is by Steve Green and did not have a tag with the official title.
What is different is that the print was done on the inside of the shirt to make it look very pale.
You could also wear this shirt inside-out for a different look too!
Below is the shirt with the printing on the outside:

Shirt inside-out!
The shirt inside out is neat too because then when you look in the mirror the letters show up the correct way!
This is a fun shirt, but I will have to be careful where I wear this due to the "language" on the shirt.

This is one of my favorite tops in my order!
I really like that it is just black and white. There could be drops of........anything?
Quite a few people like this top too and would order it if it was still around.
There was not much info about this top, no idea what the title is.

How did I like my order?

I am quite pleased. Four out of the five shirts I will wear and the fifth I am giving to someone who will like it.
I'm very tempted to place another order as I could use a few extra shirts....

If you want to order your own mystery package of shirts it is $25 and you get 5 tops. Shipping adds another $9. You can place an order at:

Which of these shirts do you like best? let me know.....

*I purchased these tops with my own money!

(and am debating another order...not that I "need" more shirts).